Flashdrive

Plug in, Play and Get Busy

Lucid dreams with Lynx (z0mg an actual FOSS post!)

leave a comment »

Hello Earthlings,

For centuries now, I have been on “Windows 7 Heaven” lately and I’ve been kinda out of the loop on the development of Ubuntu’s new release, “Lucid Lynx“. I must admit, this release is so easy to setup by a new computer user (or beginning enthusiast for that matter), so smooth visually and so feature rich, that I can grudgingly say that its the best distribution out there for general computing and education purposes :D. I’ve been blessed by the Lynx’s ease of use and reliability that I just boot into 7 to play Modern Warfare :D. Can I just say this? Like Windows 7, Lynx works right out of the box :).

Don’t get me wrong, there’s still a lot of things I miss from 7 when I login to Lynx. Like for example all my games, Office 2010 (Sorry Openoffice) and small inanities like my menu box on the right (I know the right top most bar is now for notifications). Also I like my Email in Outlook (just a teensy bit, since my PST is inside that sucker lol :)). But aside from that, everything has been gravy on the Lynx train so far :). and who knows, if all goes well I may fully switch. Lemme indulge you on how to try this Excellent OS without risk 🙂

Step 1: Within Windows, download the ISO and save it to your hdd (it would be best to create a folder like C:\downloads\Ubuntu\Lucid Lynx) link ->http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/download

How to get the ubuntu iso

Step 2: Download Wubi in the same directory (C:\downloads\Ubuntu\Lucid Lynx) link -> http://wubi-installer.org/

Wubi

Note: What is Wubi?

Wubi is an officially supported Ubuntu installer for Windows users that can bring you to the Linux world with a single click. Wubi allows you to install and uninstall Ubuntu as any other Windows application, in a simple and safe way. Are you curious about Linux and Ubuntu? Trying them out has never been easier!

Step 3: Fire up Wubi follow the prompts. When you finish you will see options in the boot screen 🙂 select ubuntu and presto! Lucid Lynx!

Note: To uninstall is a breeze! Simply boot back into Windows, go to Add remove programs (or Programs and Features in WIndows 7) and uninstall it 🙂 reboot and your back to just having windows 🙂

After installation I suggest you download Chrome for linux (trust me, this be the bomb!) and also set up your social/chat accounts in empathy and evolution :). Hey, you never want to be away for so long with your online friend nerds right?

Google Chrome for Linux, Beta!

I leave you with my fresh Lynx desktop screenshot 😀

My current desktop, sabroso dude!

Ja mata

Written by flashdrive

May 2, 2010 at 9:11 am

Leave a Reply

